The Final Week!!

I will report to the hospital to start the induction process in exactly one week and one hour!!! It is so hard to believe that we are down to one week after 4 years, 4 months of TTC which was comprised of 5 IUIs, 8 IVFs, 2 miscarriages, 2 surgeries, countless injections, 6 different REs in 5 different states, 4 different donors and a boatload of money and tears. I’m overwhelmed with emotions I can’t even describe. To get the privilege of bringing two babies home after the rollercoaster we’ve been on is nothing short of amazing!!

I don’t think the girls will come early. They seem to be quite content in utero. I saw the MFM on Monday and my BP was ok–124/84–and no protein in urine. I had a rough day on Sunday and Monday because I wasn’t able to sleep and I felt like I was going to fall when I tried to walk. My left foot is quite swollen and it didn’t feel like it could support my weight. I don’t feel safe driving myself at this point so I asked DH to leave work and take me to my appointment. The MFM wasn’t very sympathetic to my pleas to move up the induction date. He said there was no medical reason to and basically to “suck it up”… Easy for you to say buddy… Fortunately, he approved of taking Benadryl and I was able to sleep fairly well (for me at this point) in the recliner. I haven’t slept in a bed for several weeks. I felt a lot better yesterday. DH was home for Veteran’s Day and he did all sorts of stuff that I just can’t physically do anymore. I’m happy to say that we actually have a crib put together and it’s in the girls’ room! The queen bed is gone (we gave it to DH’s 16 year old nephew on Sunday who was sleeping in a twin bed at 6’3” tall). It’s starting to look like a nursery.

Now for some random coincidences and musings:
1) my donor was retrieved exactly one year ago today. I thought it would have been a cool birthday but it’s not going to happen today..
2) I matched with the donor exactly a year ago tomorrow.
3) DH and I had a housewarming party 4 years ago tomorrow. We had been TTC for 4 months at that time and I “thought” I had implantation bleeding and that the party would be my last cocktails for a while. Umm, we know that didn’t happen. Anyway, I had bought a bunch of pumpkin napkins and paper plates for the party at the Christmas Tree Shop (if you aren’t familiar with the store, it’s a mishmash of various crap but also random other things for very cheap…) I had no idea on how much to buy for the party. I bought entirely too much paper goods and it’s become a joke in my family because 4 years later I still have pumpkin napkins left! Last summer, we sold the house where we had the housewarming party. I had some open pumpkins napkins which I brought to our Cape Cod rental house to use up (my family came to the beach to visit and made fun of pumpkin napkins in August). Well, I just put the very last package of pumpkin napkins in the napkin holder!!! If someone had told me 4 years ago that I would not have a baby until the last pumpkin napkin was used, I would have jumped off a building…. Or made sure that I bought a lot less napkins!

One week.. One week!!!!

About Mrs.Mcirish

I'm a frustrated infertile living in a child-centric world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Final Week!!

  1. Hijoi says:

    This makes me smile.

  2. desneige says:

    Makes me smile too!! Congrats….so glad that your time is finally almost here!!

  3. Anon says:

    I’ve been stalking you (as many are, I am sure!) – wishing you an easy delivery and all the joy in the world – you SO deserve it!

  4. Lenox2010 says:

    I am so thrilled for you! I joined TTC after 35 @ 2 1/2 years ago and you were one of my faves who helped me along the way, and during some of my darkest moments. It truly warms my heart to know you are about to welcome you two precious girls. I have loved coming here to see how you are and how things have progressed. I knew in my heart you would get here. Xoxo

  5. JK says:

    Yay!! Good luck! So dang exciting. 🙂

  6. Isabelle says:

    So happy for you that you’re coming so close to meeting your girls! What a long journey and I am so excited for you!

  7. Becky says:

    I can’t even begin to tell you how happy I am for you and B. What a ride you have been on..one that I know couldn’t of done. You are one strong lady and glad you didnt give up. I can’t wait to meet these precious girls. One more week!!!!

  8. MtLaurel says:

    Totally stalking you here. Wishing you a calm last few days of anticipation. You’ve done awesome through this pregnancy. I can’t wait for you and your DH to reap the sheer joy after all you’ve been through.

Leave a Reply

